The Price of Morality

As gods,

You ruled by my side,

We savored in the newness of our birth-

The start of a relationship

With the world and with each other,

That was then,

The sky blackens above,

A sharp caw pierces the silence of my heart,

Time goes by on swift raven’s wing.

We have become transformed,

Brought down to the drudgery of every day existence-

Mortals.

The dream ends,

This is real time,

I find myself, as Eve to her Adam

Standing next to you,

Hunger gnawing my belly,

A quick prayer cast into the wind,

A heartfelt thanks,

You hold out your hand,

In trust,

I accept and together

We descend the valley below.

One thought on “The Price of Morality

Leave a Reply

