Mother Tongue

Learning to say

I love you

당신을 사랑합니다 – dangsin-eul salanghabnida

in my mother tongue

finds me

stuck at times,

Not because that I am incapable of love

but the manner of expression may be

considered free.

I was taught to keep my love secret,

to hold it silent and within.

I miss you

난 당신이 그리워요 – nan dangsin-i geuliwoyo

with all my heart and soul,

I am forever looking for a peace and solace

from the rage within me that roars.

My hope then,

to learn the

mother tongue

to untie the bind that holds the mystery,

who I am,

who I will be,

what ever it may be.

Leave a Reply

