Death as a metaphor

Sleep escapes me as easily as my cat slipping into the night,
Stalking on padded feet,
These nights,
My mind wanders as my body twitches between dreams,
I want to think this is what death is like,
Not the forever sleep but rather a transition between here and then,
Between night and first light,
When all you hear is the distant thunder of passing car wheels driving somewhere off in the distance,
This is what night time is now,
Not my friend tonight,
Death is a metaphor when you stop and ponder when stop lights seem to be stuck and you are left waiting for your turn.

Leave a Reply

