More Than A Mediocre Life

I recently came across this article on Facebook  describing this writer’s wish for What if All I Want is A Mediocre Life and something about this article does not sit well with me.  What I mean to say, is I challenge this writer’s point of view on what it is meant to live that simple life.

Mediocre, by definition is “of only ordinary or moderate quality; neither good nor bad; barely adequate”.  I attribute this to accepting the status quo.  Yes, that’s right.  The status quo – “the existing state of affairs”.

The writer continues to talk about “What if I never really amount to anything when I grow up—beyond mom and sister and wife? But these people in my primary circle of impact know they are loved and I would choose them again, given the choice. Can this be enough?”

My response to this is to counter that question with “what are you doing to live?  To be truly alive?”

Mind you, being a mom, sister and wife are great roles to undertake.  I am a mom as well.  My daughter has reached legal age and is pursuing leaving my nest.  I have equipped her with love, compassion, curiosity and sense of self.  I have to the best of my ability raised her to be a conscious and thinking human being.

I did not raise her to just accept status quo.  I did not just say, you are good enough.  I challenged her to think of the possibilities that life has to offer and move through life with passion and curiosity.

Which leads me to this. How do you move through the world with just a “eh, life is just ok” attitude?

In this current political climate, we as citizens should be outraged.  It’s not just a “not in my backyard” attitude that I am referring to.  The Trump administration of 2017 has definitely shaken things up and change was necessary.  What bothers me about the current political climate is that basic human rights for all is being stripped away.

That’s right.  Basic Human Rights. Our right for equality despite our race, gender orientation, class.  Our rights as human beings for clean water and clean air.  For a healthier planet.

What I am not supporting is jumping on every cause out there to defend that right.  What I am doing is writing about this in a smart and articulate manner to raise awareness and consciousness for others.  I am doing my part as a conscious, thinking human being and using the tools that was given to me.  To write.  To give awareness.  To network with others so that the truth be elevated for others to see and act consciously.

I am looking at both sides of the situation.  I am researching and analyzing what is honesty and truth and making my decision on FACTS.  That is what I am supporting.

No, for me, I don’t wish for a mediocre life.  I want a life that asks questions.  That questions authority and raise consciousness.  Humanely and compassionately.

As a practicing Buddhist, I work on breathing calmly and thoughtfully. I go to the aid of my fellow beings, both human and non-human.  Life is precious.  We only have one life to live and make the most of it.  Every day.  Every moment.  Not just an “eh, it’s just ok” sort of moment.

I can not accept the status quo.  That for me, in my opinion, has led us to this government breakdown now.  The inner sanctum of the US political system turning in on itself.  Change needed to happen.

I do have to say, change needed to happen.  The current political crap show did bring people of all backgrounds together.  We have banded in the most loudest way to show what we, the people think of the crap show.

That to me, is a good thing.  That to me, is not accepting a mediocre life.

Yes, the world is a noisy place. As the writer points out “Loud, haranguing voices lecturing me to hustle, to improve, build, strive, yearn, acquire, compete, and grasp for more. For bigger and better. Sacrifice sleep for productivity. Strive for excellence. Go big or go home. Have a huge impact in the world. Make your life count.”

Yes, you should.  We are here on this earth for one time.  Make the most of it.  Breathe deep. Live and love deep.

Leave a Reply

