SharePointery: Adventures of A SharePoint Queen

It’s been 75 days since I last worked a SharePoint consulting gig and this SharePoint queen is feeling  abandoned by her subjects.  Sure, I get bites of interviews here and there and occasionally, I get all dolled up to go meet my potential subjects but so far, nothing has solidified.  Ok, there are 2 hopeful and promising campaigns.  But it has been known that these two factions are notoriously slow in making up their minds whether or not they want to have their candidates raise their flags for them.

The business use case of SharePoint has always had two camps:  The I love SharePoint and the I hate SharePoint factions.  Most clients end up in the I hate SharePoint camp.

SharePoint-Funny-broken

As a consultant, I have seen my fair share of I hate SharePoint take root in an organization and the tool is used a document repository.  The lowest denominator use for any tool.  I see it like a rubber band.  Only brought out when you need something tied.  Let me tell you my friend, rubber bands have many applications.

It is more than just to tie hair and paper together.  Rubber band was originally created to hold paper and envelopes together.  If your organization only uses rubber bands to hold paper and envelopes together, then you are missing the point of rubber bands.  Just like the use of SharePoint in your organization, you need to understand the business case of using the tool.  I mean, if you are only using SharePoint to store your documents in folders, why use it?  Might as well just toss all your documents in a file server and call it good, right?

If however, you are tired of tossing all your documents in a giant file cabinet with no naming convention and can’t find your way out of a paper bag, then use SharePoint.   SharePoint at it’s core, has all the built in features to organize and name your documents, lock and store as you see fit as well as share and edit your documents with the proper permissions in place. Just like rubber bands, it has the ability to be versatile and resilient.(quietly gets down from SharePoint soap box).

Let me tell you my friend, I have seen many SharePoint campaigns over my consulting careers. The good, the bad and the ugly.  Many of the ugly campaigns could of been avoided if there were a clear road map to delivering the end product to the client. That road map consisting of governance and retention policies.  Clear use cases for SharePoint for business use and by all means, keeping things out of box.  Clean and simple, like a well oiled fighting machine.

At 75 days, my feelings of hope and fighting the good fight is not relevant anymore.  Does anyone need a SharePoint Queen.  An emissary of SharePoint goodness?

Consider the pieces used in the game of chess.  It is not the King that holds power, but the Queen.  The Queen is the power behind the throne.  The Queen’s ability to persuade and influence the kingdom is key to keeping things under control.  It is like this in real life.  It is not by brute force (though a good hammering and thumping of the hammer of Gods can come in handy at time) that peace and prosperity happens but by the movement behind the throne.  The infrastructure and good network that keeps things moving along.

chess

Same with how business applications like SharePoint can be used to streamline and keep your organization’s content management system humming along.

Day 75 and this SharePoint Queen is getting angsty.  I wake up, scour the job postings, check in with recruiters, apply for jobs and the best thing I can do is go about my day.  Time to bust out my bicycle and hit the road for a quick ride. Clear my head, sip some coffee.  Blog.  Bloggity, blog, blog.

 

Leave a Reply

