Food = Medicine Korean seaweed soup

I attempted making Korean seaweed soup for the first time.  Miyeok guk.

I’m relying on muscle memory for taste and I nailed it!

Because now I’m eating vegetarian, I opted for shitake mushrooms instead of the traditional beef.

This is the soup of my childhood.  And after I gave birth to my daughter, my mother fed this to me so I could produce richer breast milk.  It also aids in the boosting of the immune system.

Food = Medicine

Here is the recipe I followed.

6 cups water

1 cup vegetable stock

Dried miyeok guk (brown seaweed/wakame)

1 tablespoon garlic

2 tablespoons soy sauce (I used gluten free – tamari)

2 tablespoons miso (gluten free again)

2 tablespoons sesame oil

Soak seaweed until moisturized.  This takes 10 minutes.  You can cut into smaller potions.

I used shiitake mushrooms instead of beef.

Koreans traditionally eat miyeok guk on their birthday to remind them what their mothers went through to deliver their birth.  

Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Food = Medicine Korean seaweed soup

Leave a Reply

